Finalists announced for IHF Awards 2024

The International Hospital Federation (IHF) has announced the finalists of the IHF Awards 2024 after the judges completed scoring entries in all 7 Award categories.

IHF Awards shortlists 49 finalists

The IHF Awards 2024 received more than 500 entries by hospitals and healthcare organizations from 37 countries and territories competing for the following Awards:

  • Dr Kwang Tae Kim Grand Hospital Award – recognizing hospitals that excelled in the five dimensions of healthcare delivery: quality and safety, patient experience, cost efficiency, workforce wellbeing, and health equity and access.
  • Dr Prathap C Reddy Excellence Award for Clinical Quality and Patient Safety – a new Award for 2024 – honouring hospitals for their innovative and exemplary projects or programmes in enhancing clinical quality and patient safety.
  • American Hospital Association Excellence Award for Healthcare Workers’ Wellbeing – recognizing excellence or outstanding achievements in ensuring the wellbeing and sustainability of healthcare workers.
  • Mastercard Award for Hospital Operational Excellence – a new Award for 2024 – acknowledging measurable success in operational outcomes and efficiencies through projects, programmes, or services.
  • American College of Healthcare Executives Excellence Award for Leadership and Management – honouring excellence or outstanding leadership and management in hospitals or healthcare organizations.
  • Ashikaga-Nikken Excellence Award for Low-Carbon Healthcare – recognizing impactful approaches to promoting sustainable healthcare, reducing carbon emissions, enhancing environmental responsibility, and contributing positively to the wellbeing of patients, staff and community.
  • Seddiqi Holding Excellence Award for Social and Environmental Responsibility – acknowledging excellence or outstanding achievements in advancing corporate social responsibility.

Out of more than 500 entries this year, a total of 49 finalists have been shortlisted for the 7 contested IHF Awards, from which the Gold, Silver, and Bronze Awards, as well as honourable mentions, will be selected and presented in each category.

Read the full list of finalists for the IHF Awards 2024 here.

The shortlisted projects and programme in each category represent the innovation, good practice, and service improvement transforming the healthcare sector in IHF Member organizations across the globe. The IHF Awards recognize and amplify exemplary work that improves the level, standard, quality, operational efficiency and sustainability of healthcare service delivery. This annual showcase of excellence in hospital leadership and management is one of the core programmes by which the IHF fulfils its commitment to promoting international knowledge sharing and exchange.

The judging process involved an extensive review by members of the Awards Committee, comprising 44 healthcare leaders and senior executives from around the world. The scoring for the 6 Excellence Awards is based on five criteria: originality and innovation; intended impact; adaptability and scalability; scientific rigor; and clarity. For the Grand Hospital Award, entries were scored based on overall success in achieving the five dimensions of healthcare delivery (health service quality, patient experience, clinical outcomes and health equity, cost efficiency, and workforce wellbeing), as well as ability to sustain their success, and achievements.

Dr Lawrence Lai, Chair of the IHF Awards Committee, shared his impression of this year’s submissions:

“Since its inception in 2015, I cannot help but be impressed by the increasing number of high quality entries to the IHF Awards in each successive year – and 2024 is no exception. This global platform enables the IHF to spotlight innovative or outstanding projects that are making a real impact on healthcare delivery, clinical quality and patient safety. The learning from these Award-winning entries resonates with hospital leaders worldwide, inspiring future excellence and achievement that will, in turn, advance our health services and bring benefits to the communities which we serve.

On behalf of the Awards Committee, I would like to sincerely thank all of the hospitals and healthcare organizations for their enthusiastic participation in the Awards programme this year. I would also like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude to all the sponsors for making the Awards possible, and members of the Awards Committee for their dedication and meticulous work in scoring entries and selecting this year’s very worthy IHF Awards recipients.”

Countdown to the World Hospital Congress

The IHF Awards 2024 winners will be presented at the Awards Ceremony and Gala Dinner on 11 September at the 47th World Hospital Congress in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil). An audience of over 500 hospital and healthcare executives from around the globe will gather to celebrate the winning achievements.

Written by:

Katherine Bennett

News & insights

Look into our latest...

Navigating AI

On 18 June 2024 the Big Data Special Interest Group, led by SIG sponsor Vizient, hosted its latest meeting on...

International hospital collaboration (IHC): how can we promote ethical and responsible partnerships?

Since the 1970s, hospital community practices have undergone profound changes due to evolving public health issues such as epidemiological transitions...

IHF members at the WHA: Strengthening global connections in Geneva

In May 2024, the 77th World Health Assembly brought together global health leaders. As a non-state actor in official relation...

Key sessions at the 77th World Health Assembly

In May 2024, the world tuned in to the 77th World Health Assembly (WHA) themed “All for Health, Health for...