IHF Awards 2023 – nomination period opens for outstanding achievements in healthcare

The International Hospital Federation (IHF) has launched the 2023 edition of the IHF Awards – the premier, annual awards programme for hospitals and healthcare organizations worldwide.

Entries are being accepted in seven IHF Awards categories:

  • Dr Kwang Tae Kim Grand Hospital Award – recognizing excellence in the five dimensions of healthcare delivery: health service quality, patient experience, clinical outcomes and health equity, cost efficiency, and workforce wellbeing.
  • Seddiqi Holding Excellence Award for Corporate Social Responsibility – acknowledging excellence or outstanding achievements in advancing corporate social responsibility.
  • Ashikaga-Nikken Excellence Award for Green Hospitals – honouring hospitals and healthcare organizations promoting sustainable and eco-friendly initiatives.
  • Sultanate of Oman Excellence Award for Health Services During Crisis – recognizing exemplary achievements of hospitals and healthcare organizations in developing countries during a time of crisis.
  • American Hospital Association Excellence Award for Healthcare Workers’ Wellbeing – recognizing excellence or outstanding achievements in ensuring the wellbeing and integration of healthcare workers.
  • American College of Healthcare Executives Excellence Award for Leadership and Management – honouring excellence or outstanding achievements in leadership and management for hospitals or healthcare organization.
  • Austco Excellence Award for Quality and Patient Safety – acknowledging excellence or outstanding achievements in promoting and enhancing quality and patient safety.

The Awards Committee, comprising health leaders from around the world and chaired by IHF Honorary Member, Dr Lawrence Lai, will score each entry on its merits using a set of judging criteria.

2022 Gold Laureate, Dr Takashi Nishizaki of the Japanese Red Cross Matsuyama Hospital, commented on the recognition of its staff and the impact on his organization and the community they serve:

“After we won the IHF Gold Award for Green Hospitals, we came to know that our environmental efforts were of a high standard and had the confidence to influence others in promoting a green and sustainable environment. Our staff are honoured and proud of the hospital’s sustainability initiative and even more motivated. “

To find out more about the full entry criteria for each of the seven IHF Awards categories and submit your nomination to recognize the work of your organization, visit: https://ihf-fih.org/what-we-do/ihf-awards/.

The 2023 IHF Awards will be presented at the 46th World Hospital Congress in Lisbon (Portugal) in October. During the ceremony, attended by hospital and healthcare leaders from around the globe, Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards will be revealed in each of the seven IHF Awards categories, as well as honourable mentions for other well deserving entries in each category.

The 2022 IHF Awards were presented during a ceremony at the 45th World Hospital Congress in Dubai (UAE). Details of the previous Award winners are available here.

Written by:

Katherine Bennett

News & insights

Look into our latest...

Crafting the Congress programme: A look behind the scenes

Every year the IHF, with a local hosting member, organizes the World Hospital Congress. This event brings together healthcare executives...

World Health Day 2024

A call for equitable healthcare in the Western Pacific 7 April is World Health Day, and the theme for 2024...

Sharing the benefits and building capacity for sustainable healthcare in the US

With a growing body of research demonstrating both cost savings and enhanced employee engagement, leadership interest in environmental sustainability continues...

Geneva Sustainability Centre Activity Report 2023

Reflecting on two years of impact: Geneva Sustainability Centre Annual Report 2023 As the Geneva Sustainability Centre will soon celebrate...